Cuban and Caribbean Studies Institute

Tulane University

Gilbert Chase Memorial Annual Lecture in Latin American Music: Habana Blues and the Construction of Diasporic Cubanía

April 12th, 2011
4:00 PM to 6:00 PM

Location
4th Floor Howard Tilton Library
Latin American Library Seminar Room

The Seventh Gilbert Chase Memorial Lecture in Latin American Music will be given by Susan R. Thomas. She will present on the topic “Habana Blues and the Construction of Diasporic Cubanía.” Susan R. Thomas is Associate Professor of Musicology and Women‘€™s Studies at the University of Georgia. Her research interests are Cuban and Latin American Music, early twentieth-century musical theater and film, gendered performance practices, and transnationalism and diaspora. It will be free and open to the public. A reception will follow. For more information please contact Dan Sharp at dsharp@tulane.edu.

LATEST SITE UPDATES

NEWS

EVENTS

All Events

Upcoming Events

Read Across the Americas Summer Program at the Children's Resource Center

View Full Event Description

Join us every first and third Saturday at 10:30 am for a bilingual storytime for kids ages 2 – 10. The program is part of an initiative between Tulane University’s Stone Center for Latin American Studies and the New Orleans Public Library called the Pebbles Center.

DATES AND TIMES

Saturday, June 1
10:30 AM

Saturday, June 15
10:30 AM

Saturday, July 6
10:30 AM

Saturday, July 20
10:30 AM

Read Across the Americas Summer Program at the Algiers Regional Branch

View Full Event Description

Join us every Wednesday at 10:30 am for a bilingual storytime for kids ages 2 – 10. The program is part of an initiative between Tulane University’s Stone Center for Latin American Studies and the New Orleans Public Library called the Pebbles Center. This summer we will explore the environment and diverse geography of Latin America. Bring your favorite jungle animal and be prepared to learn some Spanish as we embark on an adventure through the Americas. This program provides a reading list of recommended titles for all ages to explore Latin America on your own this summer. If you read all books, you will be eligible for a special award offered during Hispanic Heritage month at the annual Celebración Latina held at the Audubon Zoo.

DATES AND TIMES

Wednesday, June 5
10:30 AM

Wednesday, June 12
10:30 AM

Wednesday, June 19
10:30 AM

Wednesday, June 26
10:30 AM

Wednesday, July 3
10:30 AM

Wednesday, July 10
10:30 AM

Wednesday, July 17
10:30 AM

Wednesday, July 24
10:30 AM

Wednesday, July 31
10:30 AM