Cuban and Caribbean Studies Institute

Tulane University

Africana Studies brown bag series: Yoruba Gods in Brazilian Popular Music

October 18th, 2018
2:00 PM - 3:15 PM

Location
Room 118
Norman Mayer Building
Tulane University
New Orleans, LA

On Thursday, October 18, join the Department of Africana Studies at Tulane University in welcoming Dr. Christopher Dunn for brown bag talk titled Yoruba Gods in Brazilian Popular Music at 2 PM in Norman Mayer Building, Room 118.

Dr. Dunn is a professor in the Spanish and Portuguese department at Tulane University. His research interests include Brazilian literary and cultural studies, popular music, and African diaspora studies.

The Africana Studies brown bag series for Fall 2018 will occur on the third Thursday of every month. For more information, email africana@tulane.edu.

LATEST SITE UPDATES

NEWS

EVENTS

All Events

Upcoming Events

Read Across the Americas Summer Program at the Children's Resource Center

View Full Event Description

Join us every first and third Saturday at 10:30 am for a bilingual storytime for kids ages 2 – 10. The program is part of an initiative between Tulane University’s Stone Center for Latin American Studies and the New Orleans Public Library called the Pebbles Center.

DATES AND TIMES

Saturday, June 1
10:30 AM

Saturday, June 15
10:30 AM

Saturday, July 6
10:30 AM

Saturday, July 20
10:30 AM

Read Across the Americas Summer Program at the Algiers Regional Branch

View Full Event Description

Join us every Wednesday at 10:30 am for a bilingual storytime for kids ages 2 – 10. The program is part of an initiative between Tulane University’s Stone Center for Latin American Studies and the New Orleans Public Library called the Pebbles Center. This summer we will explore the environment and diverse geography of Latin America. Bring your favorite jungle animal and be prepared to learn some Spanish as we embark on an adventure through the Americas. This program provides a reading list of recommended titles for all ages to explore Latin America on your own this summer. If you read all books, you will be eligible for a special award offered during Hispanic Heritage month at the annual Celebración Latina held at the Audubon Zoo.

DATES AND TIMES

Wednesday, June 5
10:30 AM

Wednesday, June 12
10:30 AM

Wednesday, June 19
10:30 AM

Wednesday, June 26
10:30 AM

Wednesday, July 3
10:30 AM

Wednesday, July 10
10:30 AM

Wednesday, July 17
10:30 AM

Wednesday, July 24
10:30 AM

Wednesday, July 31
10:30 AM